I don't know whether it's valuable, but I don't like being signed up for something without my permission. Per the private message I got:
"We recently rolled out a new experience on Seeking Alpha which we hope will be valuable for you. It's called People, and it allows you to read comments, articles and StockTalks by people you follow.
To ensure you can see how this works, we've signed you up (without email alerts) to follow some authors with recent articles we think you'll find enjoyable and useful:"
Customer support service by UserEcho